William B. Ogden Free Library Board of Trustees Annual Meeting January 21, 2020

Attending: Bus. Manager, Sheryl Edwards; Pres. Robbie Jean Rice; Members-Glenn Miller; Kathy Harby; Jim Kane; Lynda Preiser; Jessica Backus-Foster; Rachel James; Matt Chambers; Mary Doig; Scribe-Kyrra Howard; No public present.

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 pm by Pres. R. Rice with a quorum present.

A motion was made, second and approved that R. Rice be Meeting Chairperson.

L. Preiser, as Secretary, read her minutes from the January 22, 2019 Annual Meeting, and a motion to accept the minutes was made, second and approved. See attached.

The business manager's report by S. Edwards was reviewed. See attached. S. Edwards said that the library has become a fine free library, and that there have been 61 donations, of which 40% is new donors.

R. Rice deferred on the President's Report this year with nothing new to report.

R. Rice read Director Heather Johnson's report. The report discussed H. Johnson's work on building community, updating policies, and past/upcoming programs.

Construction Highlights were given by G. Miller. He summarized that the renovation project is continuing with replacing of the fire and security system, and the Gardiner Street doors soon to be operable. The amount of work is increasing in the board room, but progress is being made.

The 2021 budget was presented. There is a 1.5% increase from 2020. Staff raises, more staff, and more services provided by the library were listed as a few reasons for the increase in budget. A motion was moved, second and approved to accept the budget.

Nominating Committee Report was given by R. James, who motioned that Mary Doig and Matt Chambers be elected to the board for a 4 year term each, which was second and approved. Then there was a motion, second, and approval of R. Rice to be reinstated as Board President for another term.

K. Harby, L. Preiser and R. Rice gave some highlights of the changes to the Constitution and Bylaws, which were changes such as the name change of Treasurer to Finance Officer and Policy/Personnel Committee to Administrative Committee. Also the officers will also have a 1 year term. A motion was made to accept the Constitution with the changes, which was second and approved. A motion was then made to accept the Bylaws, which was second and approved.

The next meeting is January 2021.

A motion was made and carried to adjourn the meeting at 7:49 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Lynda Preiser, Secretary Kyrra Howard, Scribe